Help Center

  • 1. Creating an Account & Username

  •  
  • 1.1 To create a YouClap account:
    1. Download the YouClap app from the App Store (iOS) or Google Play Store (Android).
    2. Once the app is installed, tap the YouClap icon to open it.
    3. Tap Email/Username then enter either your email address or the username you wish to use. You can also tap the Facebook icon to sign up with your Facebook account.
    4. Upon choosing either option on the point above, you’ll need to fill in the required remaining information for creating your profile, namely username, email, password, name and birthday (optionally, you can also set up your profile picture.
    5. Finally, you must then accept our Terms of Service.
  • 1.2 To update your profile information
    1. Go to your Profile, by tapping the icon most to the right on the bottom tab.
    2. Go to the Settings menu, by tapping the gear icon on the top tab.
    3. Tap Profile on the list.
    4. You can now alter your Name, Gender and Birth date.
    5. Tap the check mark on the top tab to save your changes.
  • 1.3 What can I do if a username is taken but seems inactive?

    If a username you want is already taken by another account, you can choose an available version by adding different characters, in order to come up with a username that’s available.

  • 1.4 What if an account registered my trademark as its username?
    Trademark violations may involve using any trademark-protected material in a manner that may mislead or confuse others about a brand or business affiliation. If you believe your trademark is being infringed, please contact us (support@youclap.tech).
  • 1.5 What if someone has created an account using my email address?
    If someone created a YouClap account using your email address, without your permission, please contact us (support@youclap.tech).
  •  
  • 2. Navigating YouClap

  •  
  • 2.1 Log In Screen

    The log in screen allows you to create a new account or log into an existing account. When logging into an existing account, remember to use your username or email address and password for the account.

  • 2.2 Home

    The Home feed is where you will see content posted by you and those you follow, including challenges and posts. You can clap and double clap posts in your feed. You can also create your own challenge by tapping the floating “+” button.

  • 2.3 Explore

    The Explore screen shows Featured Users and Featured Challenges, highlighting some of YouClap’s top creators and challenges. You can also use the Search bar on top to search for other users, based on their name or username.

  • 2.4 Notifications

    The Notifications screen notifies you about recent activity related to your account and content, such as the people that have followed you.

  • 2.5 Profile

    The Profile screen shows your username, name, the people you’re following and the ones that follow you. You can also see the challenges and posts you’ve created. It’s through your profile that you can access the Settings menu.

  • 2.6 Settings

    The Settings screen allows you edit your profile information, access our privacy policy, terms of use, open source notices  and help center. It also allows you to report a bug and give us feedback by sending us an email through your preferred email provider. You can also the list of profiles you’ve blocked and, conversely, unblock them. You can also delete your account and log out.

  •  
  • 3. Creating a challenge

  •  
  • 3.1 Start

    You can start the challenge creation process either by tapping the floating “+” button in the Home feed or, in case you haven’t created any challenge, on your profile on the “Create Challenge” button.

  • 3.2 Video/photo and title

    There, you can title your challenge and record a 30sec video or take a photo (alternatively, you can pick a video or photo saved in your device), use this to explain or illustrate the point of your challenge.

  • 3.3 Description

    You can optionally set the  challenge’s description, which you may use , for example, to expand upon your challenge’s purpose or rules.

  • 3.4 Date and participation methods

    Your challenge needs a Start and End date, which you can set in this step. Additionally, you need to define the manners in which others will be able to participate, either by video, photo, text or any combination of the three.

  • 3.5 Privacy

    Here you can set whether your challenge is public, visible to anyone in the platform and appearing in your followers’ home feed, or private, being visible and appearing on the home feeds of those you’ve individually selected. You can also select a group, which works as a private challenge where all of the group’s members are selected.

  • 3.6 Preview

    Before uploading your challenge, you will have a final step where you can preview your challenge. If everything looks good, go ahead and tap on the check mark; otherwise, go back and alter any of the desired fields.

  • 3.7 Deleting a challenge

    If you so choose, you can delete a challenge you’ve created by tapping the 3 dots icon inside your challenge (top-right corner) and selecting the “Delete challenge” option.

  •  
  • 4. Posting in someone’s challenge

  •  
  • 4.1 Find a challenge

    To participate in someone’s challenge, start by tapping a challenge card (challenges can be found in Home, Explore or Profiles) or by tapping the challenge’s title in someone’s post (posts can be found in Home, Explore or Profiles).

  • 4.2 Ways to post

    Once inside a challenge, you should be able to see that challenge’s description as well as posts by other users. To create your post tap the floating button, which can either be a “+”, in case of multiple participation methods being allowed, or the icon corresponding to the allowed participation method.

  • 4.3 Create your video/photo/text

    You can now record a 15sec video, take a photo or write your text message; alternatively, you can pick a video or photo saved in your device. Your post should be a reply to the challenge you’re posting in, so make sure it fits the challenge’s context.

  • 4.4 Posting

    Once you’re sure of your video, photo or text, you can upload it.

  • 4.5 Deleting a post

    If you so choose, you can delete a post you’ve created by tapping the 3 dots icon on your post and selecting the “Delete challenge” option.

  •  
  • 5. Managing your followers

  •  
  • 5.1 Following someone

    To follow someone you need to go to that person’s profile and tap the Follow button in their profile. Alternatively, if someone follows you can follow them back easily by tapping the Follow button next to the notification seen in your Notifications screen.

  • 5.2 Unfollowing someone

    To unfollow someone to go to that person’s profile but tap the “Following” button to unfollow them.
    If someone is following you and you don’t want them to be your follower, you can block their profile, as seen below.

  • 5.3 Blocking and unblocking someone

    To block someone, go to their profile, click the 3 dots icon and select the “Block Profile” option. You’ll be shown a confirmation prompt allowing to confirm or cancel blocking that profile.
    In order to unblock someone, go to the Settings screen in your profile and select the “Blocked profiles” option, you can then tap the profile you want to unblock. You’ll be shown a confirmation prompt allowing to confirm or cancel unblocking that profile and asking if you want to follow that profile.

  •  
  • 6. Managing your account

    Your account details can be found through the Settings menu, which you can find in your Profile by clicking the 3 dots icon on the top-right corner.

  •  
  • 6.1 Logging out

    Select the “Logout” option. You’ll be shown a confirmation prompt allowing to confirm or cancel logging out.

  • 6.2 Deleting your account

    Deleting your account is a permanent action that will remove all of your data and content from our servers. Select the “Delete account” option. You’ll be shown a confirmation prompt allowing to confirm or cancel deleting your account.
    Note that, since your data is permanently deleted, the username you’ve used will now become available for new users to use. If you ever want to create a new account with the email address you had associated with the account you deleted, you can do that.

  • 7. Terms of Service and policies

    If you want to read our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy or other policies, you can do so either through the links provided in this website or by going through your Settings screen in your profile.

  • 8. Other issues

    If you have any further questions, please contact us (support@youclap.tech).